My Top Ten Albums:10

My Top Ten Favourite

Albums

Does anyone remember the first album they ever owned?

I do.

Right Said Fred – Up.

Awful.

Wasn’t he the same guy from The Crystal Maze? Maybe there was a Cat Walk in the Aztec Zone.

I remember my Old man coming home from work one night – shouting me down from my bedroom – and handing me this on cassette tape. I looked at him bemused. Was this really my first album? What a kick in the balls. But I was a child who couldn’t even tie his shoelaces yet, so I’m guessing the knowledge of performing a polite decline wasn’t quite there yet.

Maybe I loved Right Said Fred.

Maybe I begged for the album.

Regardless, I was too young to know any better and I went ahead and listened to it any way as it was the only music I owned.

With songs like ‘I’m too sexy’, and lyrics such as “Don’t talk just kiss, let your tongue  fool around” I’m surprised I didn’t grow up to have a career in theatre. But at that age the only thing my tongue was doing was licking Push Pops and impersonating the dog; Don’t get those two mixed up folks.

Anyway it wasn’t long until I gained my own identity and bought my very first album. And I’m proud to say that album has made it onto this list: A true test of time.

So folks over the next few weeks I’ll bring to you my top ten favourite albums.

But just a few points before I start;

  • 1. This is my top ten so don’t expect to see anything from The Beatles, Bob Dylan or The Rolling stones on here. With all due respect, I just don’t listen to a lot of  older music. In fact there is nothing on the list below 1996. In short; this is my favourite albums. Not VH1’s,NME’s or that drunk mess from your local.
  • 2. There is no Foo Fighters on this list. They are my favourite band and would take up 5 of the 10 spots. Instead I will do a top Foo Fighters list in the future.
  • 3. I’m always up for recommendations! Send them over. I’m a new music whore but will dabble in the classics from time to time.

10

Mew

And The Glass Handed Kites

Nice cover. Remind me never to take acid.

When it comes to music taste I would admit that I hardly push boundaries. I’m easy pleased. Give me something I can sing along with and a punchy chorus and you’ve won me. With the attention span of a goldfish, I crave hard-hitting and simply structured songs. Mew’s – And The Glass Handed Kites, really doesn’t cater for that, (perhaps the single ‘Snow Brigade’ being the glaring exception off the equally great ‘Frengers’ ) yet I seem to have everlasting patience and love for this band. In my opinion; this album is beautiful, and it really has grown on me over the years.

I first heard Mew when I was nineteen whilst skimming through MySpace. It was the song ‘Special’ that initially got me interested, but it wasn’t until a year or so later that I really gave them a proper listen. I got a hold of both ‘And The Glass Handed Kites’ and ‘Frengers’ at the same time, but it was mostly ‘Frengers’  I played as it had enough hooks to keep me coming back for more. Once I got over that there wasn’t many anthems coming my way, I began to appreciate Mew for what they are, and not for what I wanted them to be.

Can I describe what they sound like? Well no. Musical descriptions isn’t my strong point. I don’t know my bridges from brothels, and I’m not going to sit and copy and paste from Wikipedia and the web. The list is what it is, but I’ll try my best to keep it interesting.

Lately I have been listening to Mew a fair bit. The perfect accompaniment to rainy days and wasted hours. They aren’t going to be up everyone’s street and I didn’t expect them to be up mine. But there is something somewhat mesmerizing about Mew. So much so,that I long for more rainy days.

Favourite Song: Apocalypso

Not for you? Try: A Dark Design

A mention…: Frengers. It’s a tough call between the two albums and I probably like them both as much as the other. Check out 156, (Cool animated video by the way if you can find it) Am I Wry? No, Snow Brigade, and Comforting Sounds.


About Darren Crocker

Twenty nine year old from Aberdeen, Scotland now residing in Edinburgh. View all posts by Darren Crocker

Leave a Reply

